Nahigian Brothers Inc.
Rug Cleaning, Repair and Restoration
The History of Nahigian Brothers
Sarkis Nahigian opened his first Chicago Oriental Rug store in 1890. From the beginning, this included Oriental rug cleaning and Persian Rug cleaning. By the 1920s, Nahigian Brothers had opened a 5-story galleria, with each floor featuring rugs from a different country. This was the largest and most fashionable oriental rug store in the United States.
Here, on Wabash Avenue they became the heart of high-society’s center of opulence. This family business also cleaned and maintained oriental rugs, Persian rugs, as well as non-oriental rugs, for households and businesses throughout the city. Then Nahigian Brothers moved to Michigan Avenue, and eventually opened Nahigian Brothers Galleries at Marshall Field’sTM.
Today, the Minasian Rug Company is honored to carry the Nahigian Brothers collection of antique oriental rugs, along with their tradition of service; including expert hand cleaning, repair and restoration at the Minasian store in Evanston.
Original Nahigian Brothers Buildingc. 1930North Wabash Ave, Chicago
Meet Tom Jorjorian
Tom, along with his cousins, first learned the art of Persian rug cleaning and restoration from their fathers and grandfather. With over 30 years of hands-on experience in rug care, he learned service and care from only the most reputable sources. During his extensive career, Tom has served several respected institutions including as the managing director of cleaning, repair and restoration for Nahigian Brothers Inc., Nahigian Brothers Galleries at Marshall Field’sTM and the Minasian Rug Company.
Tom’s life-long history of attending to his customers’ rug care needs has created trust and long-term friendships. This is why Nahigian Brothers, Inc. claims to have Chicagoland’s most trusted advisor in rug cleaning, repair and restoration.